I worked out this morning…WHOO HOO! It’s been a while since I’ve consistently worked out. And DEFINITELY a good minute since I updated this blog! Hopefully I’ll get back into gear soon and you all can become entertained again.

I decided to go running today–cause I wanna get back into my running game. Last time I ran I was at 4.5 miles. I was hoping that I would be close to that, but actually, a month off REALLY has set me back. I’m sure that once I going consistently, I can get back to getting there, but today I was only able to BARELY make 2.5 miles. Well, 3 if you count that last 0.5 miles I ran towards the end of my workout. My goal was to run 3.5 miles, but I didn’t QUITE make it. I’ll get there soon enough-I DO kinda wonder in what length of time shall I get there. But hopefully I’ll keep blogging and keep you all posted on when I get back to that 4.5 miles!

So my reason for blogging: A few weeks ago, I walked in to Starbucks for my usual grande decaf Caramel Macchiato with Nonfat milk and the girl behind the register got my confused with another frequent customer and thought I wanted it with Soy. I told her I’d never had a drink with soy before and she mentioned how she liked it because she felt it made the drink sweeter. Hmm…So I decided to give it a try….I MUST say my new favorite drink at Starbucks is really my same favorite drink–just with Soy milk now! haha!

But It got me thinking: Besides what’s the caloric damage I’m doing to the change in my new favorite drink, what’s in a soy?, meaning, what are the health benefits of soy? I’ve KNOW I like soy because edamame is one of my favorite appetizers–and edamame is nothing but a steamed and salted soy bean. So, I decided to do some research- Here’s what I found:

[Sources]:://www.soybean.org/health.html; http://www.soya.be/soy-health.php

The soy health claim is based on the FDA’s determination that 25 grams of soy protein a day, as part of a healthy diet may have the following benefits (just to name a few):

Soy improves bone health: helps to reduce the risk of osteoporosis because it contains isoflavoones, which inhibit bone breakdown and aid in maintaining bone tissue. It also aids in preventing calcium loss from bones.

Soy reduces the risk for heart diseases: it aids in reducing cholesterol levels by preventing plaque buildup in the arteries, also an attribute of soy isoflavones. Soy also aids in reducing blood pressures.

Soy aids in preventing certain cancers like breast, prostate, and colon cancers.

Soyfoods aid in weight loss: Soyfoods are perfect for breakfast, especially when trying to lose weight because they are filled with bone-building and heart-healthy soy protein, plus they reduce overall calories and fat grams. Soyfoods are filled with fiber, which helps provide a feeling of satiety and fullness in between meals and reduces hunger gravinging. Soyfoods also tend to contain fewers calories and fat grams, making weight loss easier.

So HOW ABOUT THAT! Adding a little soy to your latte in the AM can ACTUALLY have some good health benefits! Also, if you’re wondering-changing my drink from nonfat to soy milk only added about 10 more calories…what’s 10 more calories to reducing the risk of heart disease?

There are also more benefits not listed for diabetics, nursing women and menopausal women.

Do the research! 🙂 The results may amaze you!

