Hello all!

I know I stopped blogging for a good minute, but I decided it’s 2011 and I want to get back to blogging. I had an old friend/ex-boyfriend email me saying he missed reading my blog posts about my weight-loss journey. We don’t live in the same state, nor do we talk very often, so I guess it was his way of keeping current with me, since he was one of my biggest fans and motivators when I started my weight loss journey.

So, it’s 2011 and I’m trying to FINALLY get to my goal weight. I’m currently weighing in between 192-193. I DID increase my goal weight–or decrease rather, to 180 from the original 185. I did it because I want to challenge myself. I DO believe 180 is possible, because I look at my sisters, but I wasn’t really eager to get there because I wanted to keep my thickness…I love being a woman with a little meat on her bones and I have NO desire to be super skinny. I just want to be small enough that I can wear a bikini–something I was comfortable doing last summer!

I woke up about two days ago, looked at myself in the mirror and said, “I LOVE MY BODY!” No really! I said that to myself. THAT to me is a breakthrough moment. I used to be the girl who would get compliments on how beautiful I was, and I never believed them. I have had low self-esteem most of my life because I’d always been bigger than most of my female peers…and I still am bigger than a lot of my peers (mostly now because of my height and not my waist size). Even after having lost 50lbs and getting to my high school weight, I was still finding little nit-picky things about my body I didn’t like: I hate my love handles, I hate my flat butt, etc… But NOW I just keep telling myself: I LOVE my body. I realize that the things I dislike about my body, no one even notices but me therefore, no one even cares about it.

So, if I love my body so much, why am I still trying to lose weight? Well, it’s really not so much about weight anymore. It’s about TONE. I want to tone up, to look firmer. While I love my body and SIZE, I don’t so much love the flappy-ness. I’ve LOST 60lbs, and when you’ve lost that much weight, you don’t necessarily tone up ENOUGH through all the exercise you do…if that’s making any sense. I look at my arms, and I can see the muscle definition, but then I see the “double waving” skin on my triceps. At my current weight I feel like I have about another 12-15lbs left of fat that I burn off through building up muscle definition. I’m not very far from how I want to look in my profile, and I feel like being 180-185lbs will get me to the look I desire.

So, my goal this year is to workout 5 days a week, 2-3 days including strength training. So far, my strength training is doing The Biggest Loser wii game. You wouldn’t think it’s a great workout, but I burn about 500 calories a work out, get a nice good sweat, and am usually sore the next day. Today’s the first day I’m not SUPER sore…I’m sore, but not SUPER sore today!

But anyway-let me go get my workout in for the day! Biggest Loser Wii game. I’m glad my sister and boyfriend got me these wii fit games because I can still get a solid workout in even on snow/iced-in days like today and yesterday.

Good luck on your workout! Whoever you are reading this blog!

