Proof of a Job Well Done!

Just finished my 8.2 Mi Run March 9, 2012. 1hr 30 minutes

I know Wednesday I was kind of in a slump because I didn’t workout that day and I was feeling REALLY guilty and unproductive, but Thursday I got up, did my Jillian Michael’s video and laid it ALL out. I pushed harder then I normally do, and it showed in my burning about 30 more calories than usual. I have also tried REALLY hard to stick with the low carb thing. Last night we went to dinner at a Louisiana bistro. While almost EVERYTHING on the menu looked UBER delicious, a lot of it was high in carbs. I resisted the appetizers my mother ordered and the bread that came to the table (except for one, thumb sized piece–I had a headache at that point), had a caprese salad (tomato, mozzarella, pesto with oil and balsamic reduction), and for dinner I had blackened grilled chicken breast in a lemon herb cream sauce that came with shrimp risotto. I did eat some of the shrimp risotto (I tasted it and then couldn’t stop eating it! Managed to stick with only eating half of my order though). No dessert. But outside of the risotto, I did REALLY good with my meal.

And I might have broken through, in that today, I weighed in at 198.8! I’m hoping that this is a TRUE weight loss and not yo-yo pounds. I am hopeful that if I stick to what I’ve been doing (outside of changing up my workout), that I can continue to lose weight. But this entry isn’t about WEIGHT–it’s about the non-scale victories I’ve had this week–which 1) sticking to the low carb thing, and 2) I JUST RAN 8.2 MILES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I hopped on the treadmill and told myself that I was just going to run for time–whether I get to 5 miles or 10 miles, it didn’t matter. I just wanted to get to running an hour and a half. I hadn’t done it yet, and my half-marathon is in a week! But I did it today! I ran 90 minutes and completed 8.2 miles in that time! I’m SO freaking proud of myself at the accomplishment! I really can’t believe I did that! Like ALL running. It’s just funny how when I was in middle school, high school, and most of college I HATED running. I could barely run a mile when I was in middle school. It took my 15 minutes to do too! I always think back on the first day of basketball practice in middle school when we had to run a mile and I was the only one left running while the rest of the team was sitting on the ground waiting for me to finish. I don’t even know if I ran the whole thing THEN. But now I’m running 8 miles without stopping! And this was on a treadmill, which for me is HARDER. I prefer my long runs to be outside. I can do 5 miles on the treadmill, but past that, I get uber bored & tired of looking at myself in the mirror straight ahead. But since today is a rainy day, I had to find a way to get my long run in. I didn’t want to make an excuse–especially since I didn’t have to work today. I woke up around 8:30, ate breakfast and told myself I was going to get this workout in and over with once my breakfast digested and I didnt! Didn’t waste anytime!

Next week I’m going to go hard too! Well, on Monday or Wednesday, but I’ll be taking it lax after Wednesday. They say you should go light to rest up for the race. So, I wanted to go hard. My game plan for the race is to run as far as I can. I’m confident I can do 5 miles at least…but I REALLY want to run the MAJORITY of it. After today’s run, I’m confident that I can push myself to running 8 miles again. I ran the first 6 miles at my normal (what I call) my race pace. Then I slowed down my pace to a lighter jog, and then when I hit 7 picked up the pace again. I’m going to aim to do that on race day. If I can run 8 miles out of 13.1, then I’ll be pretty darn proud. I’m even giving myself room to walk 1 mile. I feel like speed walking 1 mile and then picking up the pace again, will allow me to complete 12 out of 13 miles running. But all in all–my goal is to just run as FAR as I can–even if it’s just a slow jogging pace. I’m not racing for time–I’m racing for completion! I’m racing for my sticker (which I HOPE I get, and my medal! My sister won’t be the only one in the house with a medal now! (Granted she still has WAY more than I do and more REAL metal medals, but still!)

But anyway! Time for a shower and to get going with the rest of my day! Date night with the boyfriend. I’m excited because the restaurant we’re going to posted their nutritional facts online and I can prepare ahead of time! :0)

PS: I posted my photo above to Facebook with the caption: “I may not be the skinniest girl, but this is the body of a chick that just ran 8.2 miles and I’m DAMN proud of her” and I am SO amazed in how big of a community of supporters I have! I’m so thankful for all the comments and “Likes”.

Today has been a GOOD Day and it’s JUST now 1pm! :0)

