Just wanted to post a quick update about how my Carb Detox has been going.

As you can see, I am on day 6 of the detox. It has definitely had it’s share of ups and downs.

The GOOD news: I weighed in this morning at 199.8! Which is AWESOME from a starting weight of 206. I’m VERY happy with the weight loss since it’s been such a LONG time since I last saw that number on the scale. I am starting to like what I see in the mirror. My stomach has flattened out (not completely, but it’s flatter) and you know what’s REALLY great, my pooch has even decreased in size and looks flatter now! I have done a FANTASTIC job with sticking to this for these past 6 days even with some of the temptation moments I’ve encountered. **pats self on shoulder** On Tuesday night, I went to a coworker’s party. She THANKFULLY had chicken salad there, or else I would have starved! It was a Pampered Chef party, so the Pampered Chef host made a chicken and tomato white wine pasta and a chocolate lava cake. I copied the recipes down so that I could make these dishes later. Once served, I only ate the chicken and tomatoes out of the pasta dish and totally declined a piece of the chocolate lava cake. It helped that someone else there brought up how they were on a low carb diet to lose weight and couldn’t eat it. I felt comfortable to chime in and say “HEY! ME TOO!” and thankfully we were understood and not seen as rude for declining the food. This week has taught me some self-control, something that I felt I had lost (and was a part of the reason as to why I’ve been struggling to lose weight). Today at work, I was given a piece of cake from a family member. The piece of cake is currently sitting on the desk, wrapped up in a napkin. While it SMELLS good, I honestly have no desire to eat it. I took it out of politeness, but once I eat lunch and get one of my tupperware containers cleaned out, will be bringing the piece home to my mom. I don’t want to ruin the weight loss I’ve had this week because of one piece of cake. And if I want this Carb Detox to work and to reteach my taste buds to prefer healthier carbs, then I have to stay strong and resist.

 After getting my body compisition test on Tuesday, I have adjusted my calorie goal on Myfitnesspal to the amount of calories needed in order to maintain my weight. I strive to create my deficit by calories burned through exercise. This week, because of the new change in diet, I have eaten under that 1750 calorie goal. I feel satiated, so I don’t feel much of a need to eat anymore and have honestly had a decrease in appetite. Yesterday I only consumed 900 calories, granted I woke up later than usual–not having my first meal until 1pm–and then had to be in bed early because of having to be at work today. It didn’t leave me much time to eat, but I had a full breakfast, a snack before my workout, and then ate dinner after my workout-2 hrs later, I was in bed. This new diet is not only helping my to kick my carb habit, but it’s helping me build a habit of eating lower calorie foods for snacks. My morning snack today was a non-fat greek yogurt and baby-cut carrots. I ate a serving size of carrots (6) but stopped because I was literally just tired of chewing them, although I have a 2-3 servings allowance (in attempt to up my calories more). With a decreased appetite, my portions sizes have also become smaller–I feel like I’m on the right track to retraining my body to function the way it was when I lost the first 50lbs. I think with the frustration I became so mixed up in trying various different things that I got lost along the way-but now I’m getting back to the basics that I had when I lost the first 50lbs, which was eat the allotted calories given, burn calories through exercise, do no eat exercise calories back, and manage portion sizes.

But on to the Bad: the downfall about starting a new extreme diet is the hunger pains and hunger headaches. For the first 3 days, I had a headache ALL day. It felt like no matter what I ate, it still wouldn’t go away. It was tough to get adjusted to the low carb lifestyle. Yesterday I went headache free, but today I have one, and I honestly think it has something to do with my coffee. I prepared a cup of decaf with regular half & half and truvia, but about 30 mins after sipping on it, the headache came on. My coffee mug is still sitting on the desk mostly full. I’ve been chugging water to try to flush whatever it is that caused this out of my system (not working thus far). Another downfall is the lack of carbs has made working out EXTREMELY difficult and this has been a very low-energy week for me. I am short of breath more often than usual and on Wednesday, got sick and had to stop. I’ve been trying to keep up with my usual long and/or high intense workouts, but it’s been a struggle. Monday I didn’t workout due to work and post work plans, but Tuesday I worked out and while I got short of breath, was fine for the most part. Wednesday I hopped on the treadmill trying to get in a 5-6miler and ended at 3.5 because of sudden nausea, and yesterday I had to pause the dvd to catch my breath and then get back to the workout in order to finish the 20 minute session. It’s been a minor frustration for me because I have the Peachtree Road Race coming up and I haven’t had a 5-6 mile run in quite some time and I’ve never paused a dvd workout to get through it before, so I feel out of shape… but I have to keep telling myself that it’s a lack of carbs causing the low energy and not neccessairly me being out of shape. I’m optimistic that once I am able to eat carbs again, getting through my workouts will be MUCH easier. My body has had some minor negative effects because of the sudden drop in calories and change of diet, but I honestly believe I was consuming TOO many calories, resulting in why I was stuck in a plateau for so long. I wasn’t gaining MUCH weight either–I would gain a lot over the weekend, but throughout the week would nestle back into my average weight.

**Headache starting to subside–started eating my 2nd serving of carrots**

But I am almost out of this whole low carb first week. I can start incorporating brown carbs back into my diet Sunday: brown rice & 100% stoneground wheat bread, along with a small sweet potato. I’m excited about this because it’ll help bring back a little variety to my meals. Still no fruit though–gotta wait until week 3. I’m a little nervous about upcoming week 2 because I don’t want to overeat in the carbs now that I CAN eat them. I know to stick to a small portions, but I’m just unsure of WHEN to eat them. I don’t know if I should continue with the “eat all carbs by lunch” idea or eat my carbs throughout the day? I just don’t want to undo the weight loss I’ve just had. I’m hoping that this is a step in the right direction and not just a temporary success moment. I’m going to try to read some more in my GI Diet book by Sunday and see if maybe it has the answer to the carb solution. Dr. Oz doesn’t say anything about exercise or appropriate times to eat the carbs on his Carb Detox article.

But all in all–while there have been some minor set backs, I tell myself that this is a short-term sacrifice to help solve what could be a long-term problem if I continued in the direction I have been going in. It’s only a month of my life–and if it works, it works, if it doesn’t, then HEY! At least I tried.

But anyway–time for me to head to lunch. I’ve prepared a steak spring mix salad topped with cheese, cucumber, tomato, and avocado, greek dressing on the side. YUM! (I’m happy to get something different than turkey and chicken for once!)

**Happy Eating!**

